Effective Representation from a Skilled Farmington DUI Attorney
Regardless of what the media would have you believe, a DUI arrest does not always result in a conviction. There are many opportunities for an experienced criminal defense attorney to protect your freedom, finances and driving record. After representing clients in Salt Lake City for 15 years, attorney Joseph Jardine knows exactly what it takes to help you reach the outcome you deserve. If you or someone you love is currently facing drunk driving charges, contact Jardine Law Offices, P.C. as soon as possible.
Where Will We Start?
There are numerous components of a DUI arrest that attorney Joseph Jardine will challenge first. For example, was there reasonable cause to stop your car? Was there probable cause to issue an arrest? Was proper protocol followed when administering the field sobriety test, breathalyzer test and/or toxicology report? Lastly, Joseph will examine if there is sufficient evidence against you to support a conviction by a jury of your peers.
Utah has very strict penalties governing DUI convictions. For example, a first DUI offense carries a minimum jail sentence of two days while a second DUI offense results in a minimum sentence of ten days in jail. If you choose not to take a breathalyzer test during either your first or second DUI offense(s), you will also face a license suspension of 18 months and three years, respectively. A third DUI offense is considered a felony in the state of Utah.
While any DUI offense can be emotionally taxing and financially debilitating, repeat offenses are far more serious and often result in years-long license suspensions and extended prison sentences. Felony charges may be brought against you if this is your third DUI offense within ten years, if your driving under the influence injured another party and/or if your actions while intoxicated resulted in vehicular homicide or involuntary manslaughter.
At Jardine Law Offices, P.C., our Salt Lake City underage DUI defense attorney has the experience necessary to provide effective, reliable representation. Because the state of Utah has a “zero tolerance” policy, an underage DUI charge can have a devastating impact on a young person’s life. A conviction can hinder a youth’s ability to enroll in college, qualify for a home and/or procure employment. In the short term, for example, Utah state law mandates that the individual’s driver’s license be suspended for either 120 days or until the minor reaches the age of 21, whichever is longer.
Refusal & Implied Consent
Under Utah state law, your right to capacity is dependent upon your willingness to adhere to a breathalyzer test (or blood test) if or when you are stopped for suspicion of driving under the influence. Should you refuse a breathalyzer test, your driver’s license will likely be suspended for eighteen months, and there is no provision for a temporary license, hardship license or occupational license to get to and from work.
Contact a DUI Attorney Who Understands
Attorney Joseph Jardine possesses an exemplary record of assisting Farmington and Davis County residents facing DUI charges. Joseph has compiled an 80 percent success rate for his clients in contested refusal cases dating back to 2007. Mr. Jardine is also the attorney who cracked open the UHP and exposed the now infamous Lisa Steed’s illegal and unscrupulous practices in DUI investigations. As a result, the UHP has undergone some significant introspection and much needed house cleaning. Call now for help!